From the blog

From the blog


No Comments

“The duo repurpose and recontexualize a lot of different sounds throughout The Obsessives, but their songwriting is sharp enough that their throwbacks feel energetic and chipper as they journey through the annals of indie-rock.” Stereogum

“With the duo’s self-titled sophomore record produced by Evan Bernard and Chris Baglivo at Big Mama’s, they expand a keen knowledge of ’90s indie-rock with pop hooks that bum rush the amp stacks.” – NPR Music

Philly duo The Obsessives have released their sophomore album The Obsessives today via Lame-O Records/Cooking Vinyl in Australia, continuing even further along their indie rock inspirations, the band has found an acclivity for pop hooks and vibrant instrumentation that give a nod to their heroes (even naming a song referencing listening to a Pixies record), while also fitting alongside the top artists of the modern indie/emo scene (like Modern Baseball).


Meet The Obsessives:


Nick Bairatchnyi and Jackson Mansfield built The Obsessives at fifteen, out of a childhood friendship and a misplaced love for blues-rock. “We wanted to start a band with a “The” because bands like that three years ago were cool, like The Black Keys and The White Stripes,” Bairatchnyi remembers while laughing at his ninth-grade naivety. Three years later, the band became fixated on a new form.

The Obsessives released their debut record, Heck No, Nancy in 2015. The album chronicled a series of revelations which center around a musical mentality that volleys between the expressive texture of emo bands like Braid and the bouncy indie of bands like The Pixies and Violent Femmes.

The Obsessives will be supporting Sorority Noise on their upcoming US tour through out April, May and June.




Watch the video for Surfer Rosa here:




The Obsessives Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. You’re My God
03. Surfer Rosa
04. Violent
05. A Shady Place
06. If You Really Love Me
07. Now She’s Smoking
08. It’s Not Fair
09. In Her Belly
10. It’s Okay If
11. He Is Wise
12. Sometimes

13. When One Thing Ends
14. You’re Gonna Be

Hi Res Cover Image Here




For further information please contact Janine Morcos at Cooking Vinyl Australia on or 0421 602 683

Our mailing address is:
Cooking Vinyl Australia  
Suite 107/10 Elizabeth Street · Kensington, Vic 3031 · Australia